Check Out: New Belle & Sebastian song, “Write About Love”


“Write About Love”, is both the lead single and title track from Belle & Sebastian‘s forthcoming studio album, which is due to arrive October 12th. Unlike last week’s previews, you don’t need to sit through an entire video to check out. Instead, click play on the widget below, and for those who want a download, be one of the first 20k to grab it here.

Along with the single, the Glasgow outfit has also announced the few final details of the album. 11 songs will be included, seven of which were written by frontman Stuart Murdoch. Trumpeter Mick Cooke co-wrote “Sunday’s Pretty Icons”, violinist Sarah Martin penned and handles lead vocals for both “I Didn’t See It Coming” and “I Can See Your Future”, and lead guitarist wrote and sings “I’m Not Living In The Real World”.

Belle and Sebastian Write About Love will also feature a few guests, including acclaimed pianist Norah Jones, English actress Carey Mulligan, and members of the Los Angeles based Section Quartet. The album was recorded in Los Angeles earlier this year and produced by Tony Hoffer (Beck, The Kooks).

As mentioned, Belle and Sebastian Write About Love arrives October 12th in North American and one day earlier in the UK. In addition, two bonus tracks, “Last Trip” and “Suicide Girl”, will be available as a 7-inch with the vinyl edition in most countries, and with all editions from selected retailers in the USA. A further song, “Blue Eyes of A Millionaire”, will be a bonus track with selected digital outlets.

Now that you know all the above, stream “Write About Love” below.

Belle and Sebastian Write About Love Tracklist:
01. I Didn’t See It Coming
02. Come On Sister
03. Calculating Bimbo
04. I Want The World To Stop
05. Little Lou, Ugly Jack, Prophet John
06. Write About Love
07. I’m Not Living In The Real World
08. Ghost of Rockschool
09. Read The Blessed Pages
10. I Can See Your Future
11. Sunday’s Pretty Icons