Guided by Voices tribute album features Flaming Lips, Blitzen Trapper, Thurston Moore


Guided by Voices, who celebrated Matador Records’ 21st birthday earlier this month in Vegas, will be on the receiving end of a celebration early next year. And according to TwentyFourBit, although the GBV tribute album so far has no name, it will have plenty of exciting names on the tracklist.

As Wayne Coyne mentioned on Twitter in September, his Flaming Lips recorded their cover of “Smothered in Hugs” for the compilation. Now, No More Fake Labels founder Misty Dawn Briggs has revealed to Independent Weekly a bunch more artists that pay homage on the album. They include Blitzen Trapper covering “Hot Freaks”, Cymbals Eat Guitars doing “Gleemer”, and Thurston Moore’s cover of “Stabbing a Star”, which was recorded with Sonic Youth drummer Steve Shelley under the moniker Male Slut and appeared on the 1998 GBV tribute album Blatant Doom Trip. Other artists covering GBV include Elf Power, Superdrag, Kelley Deal with Buffalo Killers, of Montreal’s James Husband, and La Sera (a.k.a. Vivian Girls bassist Katy Goodman).

Briggs also mentioned that the tracklist is incomplete and will feature “a couple super secret surprise tracks” and that a bonus EP will be released in addition to the LP. Go here for more info and artist quotes, and check out the confirmed songs below.

Tentative Tracklist:
The Flaming Lips – Smothered in Hugs
Western Civ – Goldheart Mountaintop Queen Directory
Western Civ – My Valuable Hunting Knife
Cymbals Eat Guitars – Gleemer
Sorry About Dresden – Echos Myron
Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit – Everywhere With Helicopter
Crooked Fingers – Tractor Rape Chain
Elf Power – Man Called Aerodynamics
I Was Totally Destroying It – I Am Produced
The Pneurotics – I Am a Tree
La Sera (Katy Goodman of Vivian Girls) – Watch Me Jumpstart
Kelley Deal with Buffalo Killers – Scalding Creek
Blitzen Trapper – Hot Freaks
Superdrag – A Salty Salute
David Kilgour (The Clean) – How Loft Am I
Thurston Moore – Stabbing a Star
James Husband (Of Montreal) – Buzzards and Dreadful Crows
Twin Tigers – TBA

Digital-Only EP Tracklist:
Marie Stella – Little Lines
Free Electric State – Weedking
Mass Solo Revolt – Gold Star for Robot Boy
Gregg Yeti – Quality of Armor