Confirmed: The Mountain Goats record a death metal album

Update: The album has been confirmed. Titled All Eternals Deck, the 13-track record will be released on March 29th via Merge Records. You can read Darnielle’s description of the record here. Tracklist below.

Update #2: Per Darnielle’s Twitter: “should quash speculation that All Eternals Deck is death metal, it isn’t. tMG can’t play DM ’til I master guttural death growl i.e. ca. 2015.” Oh well.

While John Darnielle has sung about metal in the past, such as in “The Best Ever Death Metal Band in Denton” or “Marduk T-Shirt Men’s Room Incident”, he’s yet to offer any honest-to-goodness metal himself. However, this all may change with the release of the just-finished new Mountain Goats album.

Per Pitchfork, the as-yet-untitled effort will have at least some semblance of metal to it as the LP was recorded with former Morbid Angel guitarist and current Hate Eternal frontman Erik Rutan. Darnielle announced the news on his Twitter earlier today, writing “4 sessions/4 studios, FL to MA. thirteen songs escaped alive Laurie Strode-style” and then followed it up with the video you can watch above, where he introduces the collaborators from his Florida recording sessions: Mountain Goats regular bassist Peter Hughes, Superchunk drummer Jon Wurster, engineer Brandon Eggleston, and “death metal consultant” Erik Rutan.

If all that ain’t metal enough, we suggest standing between two speakers and blasting Master of Puppets.

All Eternals Deck Tracklist:
01. Damn These Vampires
02. Birth of Serpents
03. Estate Sale Sign
04. Age of Kings
05. The Autopsy Garland
06. Beautiful Gas Mask
07. High Hawk Season
08. Prowl Great Cain
09. Sourdoire Valley Song
10. Outer Scorpion Squadron
11. For Charles Bronson
12. Never Quite Free
13. Liza Forever Minnelli


Follow Consequence