Kurt Vile announces new album, Smoke Ring for My Halo

It has been awhile, 14 months to be exact, since Philly indie-rocker Kurt Vile released his last album, Childish Prodigy. But fans have witnessed the lad grow up over at Madator Records with the Square Shells EP, October’s 7″ “In My Time”, and a consistent touring schedule. Now back from his time on the road with the Soft Pack, Vile has shifted focus to his next full length, Smoke Ring for My Halo.

The album was record throughout 2010 at various studios in New York City, Hoboken, and Philadelphia, with the help of Vile’s on-and-off again backing band The Violators and producer/engineer John Agnello (Sonic Youth, Dinosaur Jr.). 10 songs are included on the effort and you can find the tracklist below.

Smoke Ring for My Halo will be available March 8th, 2011, via Matador Records as an LP, CD, and digital album. According to Matador more Vile news — including live dates and details of a limited-edition LP — will be announced shortly. We’ll keep you updated.

Smoke Ring for My Halo Tracklist:
01. Baby’s Arms
02. Jesus Fever
03. Puppet To The Man
04. On Tour
05. Society Is My Friend
06. Runner Ups
07. In My Time
08. Peeping Tomboy
09. Smoke Ring For My Halo
10. Ghost Town


Follow Consequence