New York Dolls announce new album, Dancing Backward in High Heels

It probably goes with out saying, but the New York Dolls are one of the most important bands to emerge from the American glam rock scene of the early 1970s. Part Rolling Stones, part Bowie, and all attitude, the New York-bred (surprised?) quintet opened the NYC glam/punk/new wave doors for artists such as the Ramones, Talking Heads, and Blondie before disbanding in 1976. Thirty four years, a reunion, and two albums later (2006’s One Day It Will Please Us to Remember Even This and 2009’s ‘Cause I Sez So), the Dolls remain as relevant as ever and will soon release more of the balls-out glam rock we know and love. David Johansen and the boys’ fifth studio effort, the oh-so-appropriately titled Dancing Backward in High Heels, is set to hit stores on March 15th. Recorded in Newcastle, UK and produced by Jason Hill of Louis XIV fame, the album marks the latest release from the current incarnation of New York Dolls, of which Johansen is one of two remaining original members.

Dancing Backward in High Heels is scheduled for release on March 15th via 429 Records. No tour announcement has been made to date, but keep your eyes peeled for more New York Dolls news as it comes.

Dancing Backward in High Heels Tracklist:
01. Fool For You Baby
02. Streetcake
03. I’m So Fabulous
04. Talk to Me Baby
05. Kids Like You
06. Round and Round She Goes
07. You Don’t Have to Cry
08. I Sold My Heart to The Junkman
09. Baby Tell Me What I’m On
10. Funky But Chic
11. End of the Summer


Follow Consequence