The Radio Dept. announce 2011 tour dates

How does one celebrate a banner year of Swedish Grammy nominations and year-end list accolades (pisst: number 57)? A bit of a tour might do it. At least that’s what Swedish indie-pop stalwarts The Radio Dept. have in mind. The trio, which received 2011 “Album of the Year” and “Band of the Year” nods from their nation’s Grammy equivalent, will cross the pond for a 13 stop trek across North America come February.

The band’s first stop will be at D.C.’s Rock N Roll Hotel on the first of the month. From there, they’ll head to Boston through New York, then up North for some Canada dates in Montreal and Toronto. They’ll reenter the states via Chicago before visiting Minneapolis, Seattle, and three cities in California (Sacramento, San Fran., and L.A.). The whole trip will wind down in Mexico City, which, yes, is part of North America.

The Radio Dept. flew pretty low stateside until their latest studio record, Clinging To A Scheme, landed in April, so it’s understandable if you’re not overly familiar with their back-catalogue. No worries; you’ll have plenty of time to catch up on who they’ve been over the last eight years before you catch them live. January 25th sees the release of their two-disc singles collection, Passive Aggressive: The Singles 2002-2010. Compiling singles and rarities from their three albums and multiple EPs, the collection will teach you why they’ve hung around so long and why their label Labrador has called them “indie as fuck.”

The complete tracklist for the singles collection is just below. Scroll down further to find the full tour details.

Passive Aggressive: The Singles 2002-2010 Tracklist:
Disc 1:
01. Why Won’t You Talk About It?
02. Where Damage Isn’t Already Done
03. Annie Laurie
04. Ewan
05. Pulling Our Weight
06. This Past Week
07. The Worst Taste in Music
08. We Made the Team
09. Bachelor Kisses
10. Freddie and the Trojan Horse
11. David
12. Heaven’s on Fire
13. Never Follow Suit
14. The New Improved Hypocrisy

Disc 2:
01. Liebling
02. We Would Fall Against the Tide
03. You and Me Then?
04. Peace of Mind
05. TÃ¥get
06. Slottet
07. What You Sell
08. Mad About the Boy
09. Closing Scene
10. Messy Enough
11. The Idle Urban Contemporaries
12. All About Our Love
13. On Your Side
14. The One

The Radio Dept. 2011 Tour Dates:
02/01 – Washington, D.C. @ Rock N Roll Hotel
02/03 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall
02/04 – Boston, MA @ Middle East Downstairs
02/05 – Montreal, QC @ Petit Campus
02/07 – Toronto, ON @ Lee’s Palace
02/08 – Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle
02/09 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th Street Entry
02/12 – Seattle, WA @ Crocodile Café
02/13 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir Lounge
02/14 – Sacramento, CA @ Luigis
02/15 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent
02/16 – Los Angeles, CA @ El Rey Theatre
02/19 – Mexico City, MX @ Teatro de la Ciudad


Follow Consequence