Update: Danger Mouse and Daniele Luppi’s Rome gets a release date

A little over a month ago, we introduced you to Brian Burton aka Danger Mouse’s newest/oldest project, a collaboration with Italian composer Daniele Luppi entitled Rome. We also said we’d let you know when a release date was revealed. Thanks to Direct Current Music, we can follow through on that promise: The Capitol Records release is set for March 1st.

Conceived before anyone had even imagined saying “Gnarls Barkley”, and taking some five years of work, the record was inspired by Burton and Luppi’s shared love of the soundtracks for the spaghetti westerns and Clint Eastwood films of the 1960s. To sweeten the deal, they brought in Jack White and Norah Jones as featured vocalists. Frequent readers will know we’ve given you a listen to some track previews that establish the album’s moody vibe. The promo image to the right arouses further interest, revealing that visual direction was handled by Chris Milk, the man recently behind some brilliant Arcade Fire and Johnny Cash videos.

Burton is also currently producing U2’s next release. Keep your eyes out for more information on that, and keep that March 1st date in mind. If the history associated with Danger Mouse is any indication, 2011 is going to see some pretty excellent listening.

Update: Per TwentyFourBit, we also have the tracklist and a press photo, which you can check out above.

Rome Tracklist:
01. Theme Of Rome
02. The Rose With The Broken Neck
03. Morning Fog (interlude)
04. Season’s Trees
05. Her Hollow Ways (interlude)
06. Roman Blue
07. Two Against One
08. The Gambling Priest
09. The World (interlude)
10. Black
11. The Matador Has Fallen
12. Morning Fog
13. Problem Queen
14. Her Hollow Ways
15. The World


Follow Consequence