Update: Gorillaz’s iPad album gets a tracklist, release details

Gorillaz have cleared up some of the uncertainty surrounding the Christmas day release of their iPad-created album, The Fall. According to the band’s website, the record will be available to stream in full on Gorillaz.com, but only members of the band’s fan club, Sub Division, will be able to legally download it.

Gorillaz have also revealed the album’s tracklist. Referred to as a “sonic journal,” The Fall will feature 15 tracks, “some with vocals, some without, some combined performances and some solo,” the band’s website reports. As previously reported, the effort was recorded during the band’s 2010 North American tour and as frontman Damon Albarn notes in a statement attached to the album’s announcement, their travels served as the record’s main inspiration.

“I did it because there’s a lot of time that you just spend staring at walls essentially. And it was a fantastic way of doing it,” said Albarn. “I found working in the day, whether it’s in the hotel or in the venue, it was a brilliant way of keeping myself well.” He added that the collection is “..like a diary, I literally wrote everything on the day in each place and there’s a strange sort of sound of America and its musical traditions that comes through. It feels like a journey through America.” These ideas are even further reflected in the titles of the album’s tracks, as there are references to many of the band’s 2010 tour stops.

The website also notes that a physical release of The Fall will arrive sometime in 2011. Below, check out the aforementioned tracklist, as well as the 18-second preview of the album’s lead track, “Phoner To Arizona”, which surfaced over the weekend.

The Fall Tracklist:
01. Phoner To Arizona
02. Revolving Doors
03. HillBilly Man
04. Detroit
05. Shy-town
06. Little Pink Plastic Bags
07. The Joplin Spider
08. The Parish of Space Dust
09. The Snake In Dallas
10. Amarillo
11. The Speak It Mountains
12. Aspen Forest
13. Bobby In Phoenix
14. California And The Slipping Of The Sun
15. Seattle Yodel

Gorillaz iPad image via Redsn0w.


Follow Consequence