Watch: New PJ Harvey, “The Last Living Rose”

Here’s our second taste off PJ Harvey‘s forthcoming album, Let England Shake, in the form of the album track “The Last Living Rose”. The song comes packaged in a short film, the first in a 12-part series directed by Seamus Murphy to accompany the 12 songs appearing on the record.

According to Harvey’s website, the films feature still and moving images from a 5,000 mile road-trip Murphy undertook around England:

Inspired and developed from themes in Harvey’s new album, the films were made in the manner of classic photographic reportage – recording real & spontaneous situations. They make up a visual diary of Murphy’s journey, travelling light and alone, and his attempt to document England and the English.

Murphy has mixed his observations on England with images from his work in Afghanistan, Iraq and the Middle East – places Polly refers to in her depiction of England. The film soundtrack, the studio recording of the album ‘Let England Shake’, is mixed at times with footage and audio Murphy captured of Harvey in rehearsal and in performance. In addition some of the album lyrics were given a voice by people he encountered on his journey.

There’s no word on when the remaining 11 films will be released, but expect at least a few more to hit the web ahead of Let England Shake‘s February 15th release date.

Let England Shake Tracklist:
01. Let England Shake
02. The Last Living Rose
03. The Glorious Land
04. The Words That Maketh Murder
05. All And Everyone
06. On Battleship Hill
07. England
08. In The Dark Places
09. Bitter Branches
10. Hanging In The Wire
11. Written On The Forehead
12. The Colour Of The Earth


Follow Consequence