Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros' Alex Ebert goes solo

If the name Alex Ebert isn’t familiar, then perhaps you may know him better for his work with Edward Sharpe & The Magentic Zeros. The band’s lead singer, who was also the frontman of Ima Robot, is now looking for people to know the real him as he readies his debut album Alexander for release on March 1st. A name tag would probably be just as effective, Mr. Ebert.

Accustomed to working with the 10-person line-up of Edward Sharpe, Ebert crafted the album all on his own during breaks with the band over the past year. However, that creative solitude was quite the experience for Ebert, who said in a press release that the album is ” a very humble album with sky’s-the-limit sort of qualities, and so I didn’t really shy away from doing whatever I felt like doing.” That means the singer was more than happy to bust out the violin, the clarinet, and even engage in slapping his own knees to make the album’s unique sound.

Check out the tracklist below. Ebert plans to support the LP by playing a few shows, including gigs at South by Southwest, before returning to the studio with Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros to record their sophomore LP, which is due out later in 2011. Alexander hits stores March 1st via Community Music.

Alexander Tracklist:
01. Let’s Win!
02. Awake My Body
03. Truth
04. In The Twilight
05. Bad Bad Love
06. Old Friend
07. A Million Years
08. Remember Our Heart
09. Glimpses
10. Let’s Make A Deal To Not Make A Deal


Follow Consequence