Starfucker announce Polyvinyl debut, Reptilians

Starfucker PYRAMID Pyramiddd Starfucker have finally settled on a name (the one they started with…), and are ready to release their Polyvinyl Records debut. The Portland, OR electro-pop band, who will take a note from MSTRKRFT and tour under the vowel-free monicker STRFKR, will drop Reptilians on March 8th, 2011.

Produced by Jacob Portrait (The Dandy Warhols), the album provides more of the unavoidably dance-inducing pop juice they’ve become known for over the last three years. While the major themes of death and the apocalypse are inspired by the passing of band-mastermind Joshua Hodges’ grandmother, don’t expect a bunch of morose lyrics and tunes. In fact, quotes from British philosopher Alan Watts’ lectures on viewing death as giving life meaning are interspersed throughout the record. The motifs may be morbid, but the music should remain just as lively as STRFKR has ever been.

Polyvinyl will be printing Reptilians on a limited number of 180-gram clear vinyl in addition to regular vinyl printings, and those who pre-order any version will be given an instant digital download of the album. Word has it we can expect tour dates soon (they’re already a-go for SXSW), so stay tuned for more. Check out the full track listing below, as well as a listen to the track “Bury Us Alive” (thanks to We Listen For You).

01. Born
02. Julius
03. Bury Us Alive
04. Mystery Cloud
05. Death as a Fetish
06. Astoria
07. Reptilians
08. The White of Noon
09. Hungry Ghost
10. Mona Vegas
11. Millions
12. Quality Time


Follow Consequence