About Group (Hot Chip + This Heat + Spiritualized) announce new album


About Group, the improvised collaboration of Alexis Taylor (Hot Chip), Charles Hayward (This Heat), John Coxon (Spring Heel Jack, Spiritualized), and Pat Thomas, will return April 26th with their second album, Start and Complete. For those who don’t know the back story, the group formed in 2009 to make a record of improvised music for the Treader label. They then supported the release with performances across the U.K. and an appearance at Glastonbury ’10.

According to an issued statement, Start and Complete was recorded in one day at Abbey Road, Studio 2. Taylor wrote the songs over the course of a few years, but did not share in advance so that “no one band member would know the songs well enough to have specific parts, or be prevented from playing something like the first ideas that came into their head.”

The end result, which be released April 26th via Domino Records, is described as “collection of songs created in an atmosphere of close listening and instinctive group interplay.” You can get an early taste by checking out the band performing the album’s lead single, “You’re No Good”, in the teaser video below. Scroll further down to find the tracklist.

Start and Complete Tracklist:
01. Married To The Sea (a)
02. Don’t Worry
03. With Each New Day
04. Repair Man
05. Lay Me Down
06. A Perspective
07. There’s a Way To End This Run of Doubt
08. A Sinking Song
09. Nothing But Words
10. You’re No Good
11. Rough and Smooth
12. Start and Complete
13. Dreamt I Saw You Late Last Night
14. Married To The Sea (b)