Battles announce sophomore album, Gloss Drop


battles 2011 Battles announce sophomore album, Gloss Drop

Four years and one frontman later, the remaining members of Battles return with their much-anticipated sophomore studio album on June 7th (via Warp Records). Entitled Gloss Drop, the 12-track effort features contributions from Gary Numan, Matias Aguayo, Blonde Redhead’s Kazu Makino, and Boredoms’ Yamantaka Eye.

Speaking recently with Pitchfork, guitarist-bassist Dave Konopka described the effort as “more of an accomplishment” than their 2007 debut Mirrored. “It was a really emotional couple years to get it all together. You don’t really associate our music with that emotional thing, but I cried like a fucking baby when I first heard it.”

As for the sound, Konopka said Gloss Drop features a “good spectrum — some shorter songs, some poppier songs, some total rock songs, some more out-there songs, some manic songs, a semi hip-hop-vibe song.”

You can currently pre-order the album via, and we’ll post more details as they become available.

Gloss Drop Tracklist:
01. Africastle
02. Ice Cream (feat. Matias Aguayo)
03. Futura
04. Inchworm
05. Wall Street
06. My Machines (feat. Gary Numan)
07. Dominican Fade
08. Sweetie & Shag (feat. Kazu Makino)
09. Toddler
10. Rolls Bayce
11. White Electric
12. Sundome (feat. Yamantaka Eye)