Update: Beastie Boys’ Hot Sauce Committee Pt. 2 due May 3rd

It has been a little over 19 months since the Beastie Boys’ MCA revealed that he had cancer and thus the iconic group would be indefinitely postponing the release of their eighth studio album, Hot Sauce Committee Pt. 1. MCA isn’t 100% healthy just yet, but the group now appears ready to release the reconfigured and retitled effort.

According to NME, Hot Sauce Committee Pt. 2 will arrive April 19th via Capitol Records. Update: An EMI Music rep tells us that the album was originally due for release on April 19th, but has since been pushed back to May 3rd.

As previously reported, the record is billed as the sequel to the still-delayed Hot Sauce Committee Pt. 1, even though it features all 16 tracks originally slated for Pt. 1.

Explaining the decision to release Pt. 1‘s tracks under Pt.2‘s title, MCA said, “I know it’s weird and confusing, but at least we can say unequivocally that Hot Sauce Committee Pt. 2 is coming out on time, which is more than I can say about Pt. 1, and really is all that matters in the end.”

He continued: “We just kept working and working on various sequences for Pt. 2, and after a year and half of spending days on end in the sequencing room trying out every possible combination, it finally became clear that this was the only way to make it work. Strange but true, the final sequence for Hot Sauce Committee Pt. 2 works best with all its songs replaced by the 16 tracks we originally had lined up in pretty much the same order we had them in for Hot Sauce Committee Pt. 1. So we’ve come full circle.”

For an early taste, you can stream the Nas-featuring “Too Many Rappers” below. The track was originally released in late 2009 as the first single off Pt. 1, and peaked at #93 on the Billboard Hot 100.

Hot Sauce Committee, Pt. 2. Tracklist:
01. Tadlock’s Glasses
02. B-Boys In The Cut
03. Make Some Noise
04. Nonstop Disco Powerpack
05. OK
06. Too Many Rappers (feat. Nas)
07. Say It
08. The Bill Harper Collection
09. Don’t Play No Game That I Can’t Win (feat. Santigold)
10. Long Burn The Fire
11. Funky Donkey
12. Lee Majors Come Again
13. Multilateral Nuclear Disarmament
14. Pop Your Balloon
15. Crazy Ass Shit
16. Here’s A Little Something For Ya


Follow Consequence