Melvins to release live album, Sugar Daddy Live

The Melvins, those musical pioneers of sludge metal and overall madness, are set to release their latest live album, Sugar Daddy Live, on May 31st on Ipecac Recordings. The 13-track album was recorded at the Busta-Guts Club in Downey, California and features songs that span the length of their influential career, from the doom metal favorite “Boris” (from 1991’s Bullhead) to “The Kicking Machine” (from 2008’s Nude with Boots). The last studio release from the Melvins was 2010’s well-received And The Bride Screamed Murder.

The Melvins are no stranger to releasing live recordings of their ear-bleeding concerts. Previous live albums from the Melvins have included A Live History of Gluttony and Lust, Melvins vs. Minneapolis, and Millennium Monsterwork 2000 (with Fantômas).

The band recently completed a month-long residency at Los Angeles’ Spaceland and are currently in New Zealand with a forthcoming round of Australian dates as part of the Soundwave Festival. The Melvins were at the Christchurch airport when the Feb. 21 earthquake struck but fortunately escaped unharmed, although their February 22nd show with High on Fire in Wellington, New Zealand has been rescheduled for a later time.

Sugar Daddy Live Tracklist:
01. Nude with Boots
02. Dog Island
03. Dies Iraea
04. Civilized Worm
05. The Kicking Machine
06. Eye Flies
07. Tipping The Lion
08. Rat Faced Granny
09. The Hawk
10. You’ve Never Been Right
11. A History of Bad Men
12. Star Spangled Banner
13. Boris


Follow Consequence