Morrissey releasing new “Best of” comp, single featuring Viva Hate outtakes

Because EMI can, it is set to stick it to Warner and Rhino by one-upping their 2001 Morrissey compilation The Best of Morrissey. This April, EMI will put out, on its recently relaunched Major Minor imprint, The Very Best of Morrissey — 18 tracks of singles, album tracks, B-sides, and some previously unreleased material.

Per Slicing Up Eyeballs, highlights include a nine-minute rendition of “Moon River”, U.S. mixes of “Tomorrow” and “My Love Life”, and a solo version of his 1994 duet with Siouxsie Sioux “Interlude”. In case you really just can’t stand Siouxsie and the Banshees? The album comes out April 25th in the U.K. on CD and double-vinyl.

There’s also a disc two: a bonus DVD of 11 music videos and one live performance — “I’ve Changed My Plea to Guilty” from Morrissey’s 1990 appearance on Jonathan Ross’ TV show. The performance is previously unavailable on DVD, but of course is available on YouTube, here and below.

Morrissey will be releasing a single for the compilation, “Glamorous Glue”, which first appeared on his 1992 album Your Arsenal. It comes out April 18th on CD, limited-edition 7-inch picture disc, and limited-edition 7-inch in a picture sleeve. Strange that this doesn’t just come out on Record Store Day two days earlier, but hey, prolong the festivities. The single will feature two unreleased outtakes from the ex-Smiths vocalist’s 1988 album Viva Hate, although you’ll have to buy separate copies to own all three songs. “Safe, Warm Lancashire Home” appears on the 7-inch versions of the single, while “Treat Me Like a Human Being” comes with the CD version.

The full tracklist for the CD and DVD are below.

The Very Best of Morrissey Tracklist:
1. The Last of the Famous International Playboys
2. You’re Gonna Need Someone On Your Side
3. The More You Ignore Me, the Closer I Get
4. Glamorous Glue
5. Girl Least Likely To
6. Suedehead
7. Tomorrow (U.S. remix radio edit)
8. Boxers
9. My Love Life (U.S. mix)
10. Break Up the Family
11. I’ve Changed My Plea to Guilty
12. Such a Little Thing Makes Such a Big Difference
13. Ouija Board, Ouija Board
14. Interesting Drug
15. November Spawned a Monster
16. Everyday Is Like Sunday
17. Interlude (Morrissey solo version) *
18. Moon River (Extended 9:39 version)

* Previously unreleased

Bonus DVD:
1. The Last of the Famous International Playboys
2. The More You Ignore Me, the Closer I Get
3. Glamorous Glue
4. Suedehead
5. Tomorrow
6. Boxers
7. My Love Life
8. I’ve Changed My Plea to Guilty (Live, Jonathan Ross Show)
9. Interesting Drug
10. November Spawned a Monster
11. Everyday Is Like Sunday
12. Sunny

* Previously unavailable on DVD


Follow Consequence