Patrick Wolf details new album Lupercalia


It’s a little strange Patrick Wolf doesn’t have more recognition in the States. He’s on his fifth album, is widely revered by critics, and opened for those Suburbs guys that won all the Grammys. Plus, according to Clash Music, Lady Gaga is now a fan: “I’m really into an artist right now named Patrick Wolf. I think you would really love him — really fantastic, amazing, from the U.K.”

Now might be his moment; Wolf has a new album coming out called Lupercalia, for which Clash Music reports he has recently revealed the tracklisting. Songs include the singles “Time of My Life” and “The City” (out next month), as well as titles like “Slow Motion”, “Bermondsey Street”, “The Future”, “Armistice”, and “William”, which we’ll go ahead and boldly assume is about his fiancé. It was also reported in 2009 Wolf would have Groove Armada and Tilda Swinton on the album, the latter of whom also appeared on Wolf’s previous album, The Bachelor.

According to Clash, Wolf worked with “a number of guest artists” and self-produced the effort, which he recorded in Europe and the United States at nine different studios. Among the guest artists are a choir and a full orchestra, arranged by Fiona Brice.

You can already pre-order this thing from a few sources (might we suggest Amazon?); it’s set for a May 31st release. Check out the full tracklist below and what Wolf describes as “temporary artwork” to the right.

Oh, and there will be a tour; rehearsals are reportedly underway.

Lupercalia Tracklist:
01. The City
02. House
03. Bermondsey Street
04. The Future
05. Armistice
06. William
07. Time of My Life
08. The Days
09. Slow Motion
10. Together
11. The Falcons