Beck, Robert Smith, Devendra Banhart team up for John Martyn Tribute


There’s been a lot of talk about tribute and cover albums lately, and Mr. Beck Hansen – along with The Cure’s Robert Smith, Snow Patrol, and Phil Collins – want to make sure that the late John Martyn isn’t left out of the conversation. Direct Current is reporting that the aforementioned, as well as Devendra Banhart, David Gray, Donavan, The Swell Season, and a host of others are set to pay their respects to the British singer-songwriter on an extensive tribute album.

It’s won’t hit shelves until July 12th, but the compilation – titled Johnny Boy Would Love This…A Tribute to John Martyn – will feature 30 takes on songs from Martyn’s discography, which boasts over 20 albums recorded over 44 years. Martyn, who died in 2009 as a result of complications from double pneumonia, became famous for becoming the first white solo act signed to Island Records. He collaborated with a slew of artists including David Gilmour and Eric Clapton over the course of his career and Clapton even went as far to say the guitar virtuoiso “was so far ahead of everything, it’s almost inconceivable” after Martyn was awarded the BBC 2 Folk award for lifetime achievement in 2008.

One of the most amazing things about Martyn’s career is that he recorded until the very end, and before the tribute hits the streets, Martyn’s last album – eerily titled Heaven and Earth – will be released on May 3rd. The nine-track effort was being recorded at the time of his death, and the full tracklist for both albums is available below.

Johnny Boy Would Love This Tracklist:
01. Fine Lines – Syd Kitchen
02. Back To Stay – Ultan Conlon
03. One World – Paolo Nutini
04. Fairy Tale Lullaby – Bombay Bicycle Club
05. Anna – Brendan Campbell
06. Small Hours – Robert Smith (from The Cure)
07. Rope Soul’d – The Blackships (Nick McCabe and Simon Jones from The Verve)
08. Go Down Easy – Beth Orton
09. Glorious Fool – Clarence Fountain and Sam Butler
10. Couldn’t Love You More – Lisa Hannigan
11. Sweet Little Mystery – Devendra Banhart
12. Go Easy – Vetiver
13. Let The Good Things Come – David Gray
14. Lay it All Down – Donovan
15. May You Never – Snow Patrol
16. John Wayne – Oh My God
17. Tearing and Breaking – Phil Collins
18. Head & Heart – Vashti Bunyan
19. Solid Air – Skye Edwards (Morcheeba)
20. Over The Hill – Ted Barnes featuring Gavin Clark (Clayhill and Unkle)
21. I Don’t Want to Know – The Swell Season
22. Dancing – Sonia Dada
23. Certain Surprise – Sabrina Dinan
24. Angeline – Nicholas Barron
25. You Can Discover – Cheryl Wilson
26. The Easy Blues – Joe Bonnamassa
27. Walk to the Water – John Smith
28. Road to Ruin – Jim Tullio
29. Hurt in Hurt – Judy Tzuke
30. Stormbringer – Beck

Heaven and Earth Tracklist:
01. Heel of the Hunt
02. Stand Amazed
03. Heaven and Earth
04. Bad Company
05. Could’ve Told You Before I Met You
06. Gambler
07. Can’t Turn Back The Years
08. Colour
09. Willing To Work