David Bowie's unreleased album Toy leaks online


Davie Bowie is retired, which means we’re only getting new music if previously unreleased material leaks online or someone drops an unauthorized release. Today, we have examples of both.

As Antiquiet points out, Bowie’s still unreleased album Toy leaked onto the web this past weekend. According to Rolling Stone, the album was originally due for release in 2001, but was postponed due to a dispute with his label, Virgin Records. Two of the album’s tracks – “Uncle Floyd” and “Afraid” – were reworked for his 2002 album Heathen and three others – “Baby Loves That Way”, “Shadow Man”, and “You’ve Got A Habit of Leaving” – were released as B-sides. The remaining nine tracks were previously unreleased.

While Bowie declined to comment on the leak of Toy, the legendary musician was quick to discredit the forthcoming David Bowie Birthday Celebration – Live In NYC – 1997. According to, the release is unofficial and was produced by the same people behind the 2009’s Glass Spider CD and vinyl. “I wouldn’t normally give these things publicity, but this release is still being generally reported as though it were official,” the statement reads.

Toy Tracklist:
01. Uncle Floyd
02. Afraid
03. Baby Loves That Way
04. I Dig Everything
05. Conversation Piece
06. Let Me Sleep Beside You
07. Toy (Your Turn To Drive)
08. Hole In The Ground
09. Shadow Man
10. In The Heat Of The Morning
11. You’ve Got a Habit Of Leaving
12. Silly Boy Blue
13. Liza Jane
14. The London Boys