Eddie Vedder details new solo album, Ukulele Songs


One week after the album’s lead single hit the web, Pearl Jam’s Eddie Vedder has officially detailed his much-rumored ukulele-based solo album. Due for release May 31st, the aptly titled Ukulele Songs consists of 16 original songs and covers, many of which have been performed live but were never released. Also of note is a ukulele version of Pearl Jam’s 2002 track “Can’t Keep”, as well as guest appearances by The Swell Season’s Glen Hansard and Cat Power.

The follow-up to Vedder’s 2007 soundtrack for Into The Wild will be released alongside a live DVD entitled Water On The Road. According to Billboard, the effort features Vedder playing Pearl Jam and ukulele songs, covers, and selections Into The Wild at a pair of Washington D.C. solo shows from Aug. 16 and 17, 2008. It was directed by Christoph Green and Fugazi’s Brendan Canty. Below, you can watch an early taste in the form of the clip for “You’re True”.

Along with the video, the aforementioned lead single, “Longing To Belong”, is now available through digitial outlets. The single’s artwork can be found to your top right.

Ukulele Songs Tracklist:
01. Can’t Keep
02. Sleeping by Myself
03. Without You
04. More Than You Know
05. Goodbye
06. Broken Heart
07. Satellite
08. Longing to Belong
09. Hey Fahkah
10. You’re True
11. Light Today
12. Sleepless Nights (feat. Glen Hansard)
13. Once in Awhile
14. Waving Palms
15. Tonight You Belong to Me (feat. Cat Power)
16. Dream a Little Dream

Water On The Road Tracklist:
01. The Canyon
02. Sometimes
03. Trouble
04. Around the Bend
05. Girl From the North Country
06. Guaranteed
07. Setting Forth
08. Far Behind
09. No Ceiling
10. Rise
11. Golden State
12. Society
13. Forever Young
14. Ed Piano (Instrumental)
15. I’m Open
16. Man of the Hour
17. Driftin’
18. No More
19. You’re True
20. Ukulele Interlude (Instrumental)
21. Unthought Known
22. Arc
23. Hard Sun
24. The Canyon (reprise)