The Morning Benders offer EP for Japanese aid effort


picture 5 575x575 The Morning Benders offer EP for Japanese aid effort

From The Mountain Goats and Sonic Youth to Linkin Park and Gwen Stefani, a number of musicians have already come to the aid of the Japanese citizens in the aftermath of their country’s recent earthquake. Now, indie rockers The Morning Benders are doing their part with the creation of the Japan Echo EP, an eight-track effort featuring two original numbers plus remixes from Star Slinger, Aislyn, Twin Sister, RAC, and Wild Nothing. The band’s frontman, Chris Chu, also released a statement regarding his personal connection to the country.

“Last week we were scheduled to go to Tokyo to play our first show ever in Japan. It was going to be a very special trip for us, and for me in particular. I had always dreamt of going back to Japan to play music. Not many people know this, but I was actually born in Japan, and although I only lived there for a couple of years, I’ve always had a deep love for the country and its people. I cannot express how sad and helpless I’ve felt reading about everything that is happening there right now, and even though we couldn’t be there, we wanted to do everything we could to help. We love you Japan.”

Fans are encouraged to head to the band’s official site to donate and download. All of the money raised will go to the Japan Society Earthquake Relief Fund.  The tracklist for the EP can be found below.

Japan Echo EP Tracklist:
01. Cold War (Star Slinger Remix)
02. Better In Blue
03. Hand Me Downs (Wild Nothing Remix)
04. Excuses (RAC Remix)
05. Mason Jar (Twin Sister Remix)
06. Wet Cement (Aislyn Remix)
07. Little Riot
08. Promises (Star Slinger Remix)