Check Out: Check Yo’ Ponytail 2 mixtapes (CoS Premiere)

Most people give crap to Monday, and deservedly so. Who wants to go back to work and/or school and mourn the passing of yet another weekend? But when it comes right down to it, Tuesday might just suck more in the long run. At least with Monday, we’ve all known it sucked since we were kids (thanks Garfield!) Tuesday, on the other hand, is just as bad, yet it perpetuates the myth that being one day closer to Friday is soooo much better. Well, it ain’t.

So, in a way to win back the day that breaks even Robert Smith’s heart, the good folks at Iheartcomix, the Media Contender, The Echoplex, and L.A. Record are holding the next edition of their monthly musical extravaganza Check Yo’ Ponytail 2 today. Featuring The Go! Team, Hottub, Juiceboxx, DJ Haul, and Franki Chan, the event promises to be a crazy good way to make Tuesday actually mean something fun. But before you throw on your undersized leather jacket and neon-colored kicks, we here at CoS are happy to premiere two exclusive mixtapes by The Go! Team and Hottub and Jaysonik.

The first offering is organized by The Go! Team and features nearly 30 amazing tracks from well-known and beloved acts, including My Bloody Valentine, Yo La Tengo, Deerhoof, Ennio Morricone, Mark Mothersbaugh, and more. The other, a 22-track compilation from Hottub and Jaysonik, reads like a who’s who of dance musicians and DJs: MDNR, Banbarra, The RAH Band, and the aforementioned Hottub and Jaysonik are all included.

Below, check out the mixtapes in all their glory. The show goes down tonight at The Echoplex; tix are $15 and available via TicketWeb.

The Go! Team Mixtape

Hottub vs. Jaysonik Mixtape

The Go! Team! – Check Yo Ponytail 4/19/11 Mixtape Tracklist:
01. Unidentified instrumental
02. Revlons – Whirlwind
03. Luther Ingram and His Orchestra – Exus Trek
04. Backyard Heavies – Expo 83
05. My Bloody Valentine – You Never Should
06. Menahan Street Band – The Contender
07. John Brion – Phone Call
08. Reginald Milton – Clap Your Hands
09. Paddy Kingsland (The BBC Radiophonic Workshop) – Take Another Look
10. Hijack – Intro, Phantom of the Opera
11. Tanya Winley – Vicious Rap
12. Deerhoof – The Galaxist
13. The Strawberry Alarm Clock – Pretty Song From Psych Out
14. Lalo Schifrin – Burning Bridges Instrumental
15. The Yum Yums – Gonna Be A Big Thing
16. Sven Libaek – Infinite Journey
17. The Go! Team – TORNADO
18. Guided By Voices – Game of Pricks
19. Mark Mothersbaugh – Let Me Tell You About My Boat
20. Little Denise Stevenson – Hip Breakin
21. The Octopus Project – Vanishing Lessons
22. Stereo Total – Supercool
23. The Kights – The Hump
24. LittleLisa – Choo Choo Train
25. Felt – William S Harvey
26. Yo La tengo – Magnet
27. Dean Wareham – West Broadway
28. Ennio Morricone – L’estasi dell’oro

Hottub vs. Jaysonik – Check Yo Ponytail 4/19/11 Mixtape Tracklist:
01. Jaysonik – Kangtang Laban
02. Hottub – Shoot The Lights Out
03. Rodger Collins – Foxy Girls In Oakland
04. The RAH Band – Messages From The Stars
05. Mim Suleman – Bibi Na Mpu
06. Banbarra – Shack Up
07. Official Tourist ft. Spank Rock – Fruhstick
08. Michatron – Use It Like A Bumper
09. Hottub – (Four) Lokos Only (Mochipet remix)
10. Jaysonik – SHove It Nigel
11. Cylob – Cut The Midrange Drop The Bass
12.  Lleggs – Digitial Tsunami
13. Jaysonik – Nothing
14. Hottub – Mag Takas
15. MDNR – Club Six (Jaysonik remix)
16. Hottub – Booty Pump
17. Scottie B & King Tut – You Can Call Me Al
18. Underground Theme – Elmo Is Dead
19. Little Dragon – My Step
20. MU – ???
21. Maximum Joy – Stretch
22. Hottub – Toohottotrot


Follow Consequence