Third Man Records to release early White Stripes recordings, live album, DVD


Last Saturday marked two months since The White Stripes announced their demise, but the group’s legacy carries on thanks to Jack White’s Third Man Records. In addition to the Record Store Day reissue of the band’s first two singles, the Nashville, TN-based label has announced a slew of Jack and Meg-related goodies for the eighth installment of its subscription program, The Vault. Among the incredible items included:

— A live recording of the band’s final performance on July 31st, 2007 in Southaven, Mississippi. Entitled Live in Mississippi, the record is presented in crystalline audioquality and spread across 2 LP’s pressed on 180-gram vinyl.

— A 7″ single featuring some of the band’s earliest recordings. The a-side is “Signed DC” originally done by the band Love on their self-titled debut record from 1966. The flipside is a rendition of the Otis Redding classic “I’ve Been Loving You Too Long.” “Recorded in Detroit in September of 1997 a mere two months after the Stripes’ live debut, this single provides a heretofore unheard era of the band,” explains Third Man. “Although their debut single ‘Let’s Shake Hands’ wouldn’t be released for another eight months, this recording shows how fully-formedrn the general idea, aesthetic and approach of the White Stripes was from the very start.”

— A DVD entitled Under Moorhead Lights All Fargo Night featuring previously unseen footage from the band’s June 13, 2000 gig at Ralph’s Corner Bar in Moorhead, Minnesota. The performance was one their first following the release of their sophomore album, De Stijl, and featured a cover of Iggy Pop’s “I’m Bored”.

Tracklists for both the live album and DVD are posted below. Those interested in joining the vault, can sign up here.

Live in Mississippi Tracklist:
01. Stop Breaking Down (Robert Johnson)
02. Let’s Build a Home
03. When I Hear My Name
04. Icky Thump
05. Dead Leaves and the Dirty Ground/As Ugly As I Seem
06. The Same Boy You’ve Always Known
07. Wasting My Time
08. Phonograph Blues (Robert Johnson)
09. Cannon/John the Revelator (Traditional)
10. Death Letter (Son House)
11. Astro
12. Apple Blossom
13. You Don’t Know What Love Is (You Do As You’re Told)
14. In the Cold, Cold Night
15. I Want to Be the Boy to Warm Your Mother’s Heart
16. Hotel Yorba
17. A Martyr For My Love For You
18. Ball and Biscuit
19. 300 MPH Torrential Outpour Blues
20. Blue Orchid
21. I’m Slowly Turning Into You
22. Boll Weevil

Under Moorhead Lights All Fargo Night Tracklist:
01. Let’s Shake Hands
02. Screwdriver
03. Wasting My Time
04. Jolene (Dolly Parton)
05. Little Bird
06. Apple Blossom
07. You’re Pretty Good Looking (for a Girl)
08. Your Southern Can is Mine (Blind Willie McTell)
09. Suger Never Tasted So Good
10. Truth Doesn’t Make a Noise
11. I’m Bored (Iggy Pop)
12. Cannon/John the Revelator (Traditional)