Adele, PJ Harvey, James Blake nominated for Mercury Prize 2011

The Mercury Prize is the annual award given to the best album from the United Kingdom and Ireland. Last year, The xx took home the honors, and other past recipients include Arctic Monkeys, Pulp, Portishead, Primal Scream, Badly Drawn Boy, and Antony and the Johnsons.

The nominees for 2011 were announced earlier this morning and notables include Adele’s 21, PJ Harvey’s Let England Shake (she previously won in 2001 for Stories from the City, Stories from the Sea), James Blake’s self-titled debut, and Tinie Tempah’s Disc-Overy. You can check out the complete list of nominees below.

The winner will be announced on September 6th and along with bragging rights, the prize includes £20,000.

Also, per At Ease, an interesting tidbit: Though Radiohead has never won the Mercury Prize, The King of Limbs is the band’s first album since Kid A to not receive a nomination.

Mercury Prize 2011 Nominees:
Adele – 21
Ana Calvi – Ana Calvi
Elbow – Build A Rocket Boys!
Everything Everything – Man Alive
Ghost Poet – Peanutbutter and Melancholy Blues
Gwilym Simcock – Good Days At Schloss Elmau
James Blake – James Blake
Katy B – On A Mission
King Creosote & Jon Hopkins – Diamond Mines
Metronomy – The English Riviera
PJ Harvey – Let England Shake
Tinie Tempah – Disc-Overy


Follow Consequence