Astronautalis announces new album: This Is Our Science


It’s been some three years since we last got a full LP from the Jacksonville, FL-now-Minneapolis, MN rapper known as Astronautalis. Since then he’s released an enjoyable mixtape, picked up a full band, teased a single, and waxed about the state and future of his career. Now, though, Some Kind of Awesome points out that Astronautalis’ followup to his CoS Top-Star earning Pomegranate is finally set for release. Album number four is entitled This Is Our Science, and drops September 13th via Fake Four Inc.

The 11-track effort sees collaborations from multiple members of Doomtree, the rap collective from Astronautalis’ new Twin City home, including P.O.S, Sims, and production work by Cecil Otter and Lazerbeak. There’ll also be a song called “Contrails” with Tegan Quin, of former tourmates Tegan & Sara, which you can watch performed below (sans the female vocals) at this year’s Homegrown Music and Arts Festival in Dallas. You can take a listen to the previously revealed album track “Midday Moon” here.

Fans may remember that Astronautalis and P.O.S. performed their second show together as Four Fists for our Axis of Audio party at SXSW back in March. Expect work on that duo’s debut EP to continue once both artists release their upcoming solo efforts, with an eye towards a release by the year’s end. For now, though, get ready for This Is Our Science on September 13th, and check out the full tracklist below. You can also catch Astronautalis at this year’s Bumbershoot festival.

This Is Our Science

01. The River, The Woods
02. This Is Our Science (feat. Isaiah Toothtaker and P.O.S.)
03. Thomas Jefferson (feat. Sims and Mike Wiebe)
04. Measure the Globe
05. Dimitri Mendeleev
06. Midday Moon
07. Contrails (feat. Tegan Quin)
08. Holy Water
09. Secrets on Our Lips
10. Life the Curse
11. One for the Money