Boom Bip returns with guest-heavy new album: Zig Zaj


The good thing about instrumental artists? Their doors are open to all kinds of collaborations. L.A. musician Bryan Charles Hollon, better known as Boom Bip, will demonstrate this with a new album, out this fall. Boom Bip, who has released only two proper solo albums in his 13-year career, will follow up on Blue Eyed in the Red Room (2005) and his Mercury-nominated collaboration with Gruff Rhys Stainless Style (2008) by branching out and grabbing some diverse indie and alternative names.

The new record, Zig Zaj, features high-profile collabos that read like next summer’s festival lineups. Unfortunately no Weezer, but guests on the album do include Luke Steele (Empire of the Sun), Alex Kapranos (Franz Ferdinand), and Josh Klinghoffer (Red Hot Chili Peppers). Also making appearances are Money Mark, Cate Le Bon of Neon Neon, and members of Warpaint and Bon Iver. With that kind of talent, there had better be a gem or two on this thing, right?

Zig Zaj, which was mixed in New York by Chris Shaw and mastered at L.A.’s Universal Studios, comes out September 27th via Lex Records. Check out the tracklist below, as well as a stream of opening track “All Hands”.

Zig Zaj Tracklist:
01. All Hands
02. Goodbye Lovers And Friends (ft. Alex Kapranos)
03. Pele
04. Do As I Do (ft. Cate Le Bon)
05. Reveal
06. Manabozh (ft. Money Mark)
07. New Order (ft. Luke Steele & Josh Klinghoffer)
08. Automation
09. Tumtum
10. Mascot and the Moth