Check Out: Robert Smith covers John Martyn


john martyn tribute Check Out: Robert Smith covers John Martyn

As previously reported, The Cure’s Robert Smith, Beck, Devendra Banhart, and Snow Patrol are among the names contributing to a new tribute album for UK folk-rock icon John Martyn. Due for release on August 16th, Johnny Boy Would Love This…A Tribute to John Martyn features 30 covers in all. Smith’s offering, a take on “Small Hours” from Martyn’s 1977 album One World, was debuted today and you can now stream it below (via Chain of Flowers).

Johnny Boy Would Love This Tracklist:
01. Fine Lines – Syd Kitchen
02. Back To Stay – Ultan Conlon
03. One World – Paolo Nutini
04. Fairy Tale Lullaby – Bombay Bicycle Club
05. Anna – Brendan Campbell
06. Small Hours – Robert Smith (from The Cure)
07. Rope Soul’d – The Blackships (Nick McCabe and Simon Jones from The Verve)
08. Go Down Easy – Beth Orton
09. Glorious Fool – Clarence Fountain and Sam Butler
10. Couldn’t Love You More – Lisa Hannigan
11. Sweet Little Mystery – Devendra Banhart
12. Go Easy – Vetiver
13. Let The Good Things Come – David Gray
14. Lay it All Down – Donovan
15. May You Never – Snow Patrol
16. John Wayne – Oh My God
17. Tearing and Breaking – Phil Collins
18. Head & Heart – Vashti Bunyan
19. Solid Air – Skye Edwards (Morcheeba)
20. Over The Hill – Ted Barnes featuring Gavin Clark (Clayhill and Unkle)
21. I Don’t Want to Know – The Swell Season
22. Dancing – Sonia Dada
23. Certain Surprise – Sabrina Dinan
24. Angeline – Nicholas Barron
25. You Can Discover – Cheryl Wilson
26. The Easy Blues – Joe Bonnamassa
27. Walk to the Water – John Smith
28. Road to Ruin – Jim Tullio
29. Hurt in Hurt – Judy Tzuke
30. Stormbringer – Beck