Noel Gallagher announces debut solo album: High Flying Birds


For his first post-Oasis venture, Noel Gallagher has chose to go the solo route. The former Oasis guitarist will release his debut full length, Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds, in the UK on October 17th via his personal imprint, Sour Mash Records. Update: The album will be released in the U.S. on November 8th.

The 10-track effort was co-produced by David Sardy (who also produced Oasis’ 2008 album Dig Out Your Soul) in London and Los Angeles during 2010 and the first half of 2011. Gallagher reportedly said the end result ”isn’t a Guitar Hero album,” and it doesn’t contain any guitar solos until track six. Instead, he’ll be accompanied by an eclectic mix of instrumentation that ranges from steel guitar and double bass to ‘wineglass’ and, yes, an electric kettle. The Crouch End Festival Choir was also involved in the making of the record.

High Flying Birds will also be the name of the band that will back Gallagher when he hits the road later this fall in support of the album. Specific tour dates are still forthcoming.

If that weren’t enough, Gallagher also revealed that he is already done with a second record, which is said to be a collaborative effort with psychedelic dance duo Amorphous Androgynous. (Honestly, are you surprised?) That release is expected to see light next year.

High Flying Birds Tracklist:
01. Everybody’s On The Run
02. Dream On
03. If I Had A Gun…
04. The Death Of You And Me
05. (I Wanna Live In A Dream In My) Record Machine
06. AKA…What A Life!
07. Soldier Boys And Jesus Freaks
08. AKA…Broken Arrow
09. (Stranded On) The Wrong Beach
10. Stop The Clocks