Lateef the Truthspeaker announces debut solo LP: Firewire

As the co-founder of the hip-hop collective SoleSides (now known as Quannum Projects), Lateef the Truthspeaker has been an integral component of the Bay Area’s hip-hop scene since the mid-1990s. The socially-conscious lyricist, who found success rapping alongside Lyrics Born as Latryx, is now bringing together some of the biggest names from his Rolodex to produce his long-overdue solo LP, Firewire.

The 13-track album drops November 8th via Quannum Projects, and features Chief Xcel, DJ Shadow, Dan the Automator, Del the Funky Homosapien, and Lyrics Born. According to a press release, Firewire is Lateef’s most ambitious project to date, with tracks suitable for “hip-hoppers, hipsters, dance heads, R&B lovers and unapologetic pop fans”. Check out the album’s lead single “Testimony”, as well as the complete tracklist, below.

Lateef the Truthspeaker – “Testimony”

Firewire Tracklist:
01. Let’s Get Up (prod. by Chief Xcel)
02. FireWire Interlude
03. Oakland (feat. Del the Funky Homosapien & The Grouch)
04. Only Thought
05. We the People (prod. by Chief Xcel)
06. Heckuvit
07. Hardship Enterprise (feat. Lyrics Born)
08. So Sexy
09. Testimony
10. Left Alone (prod. by Dan the Automator)
11. Say What You Want (prod. by DJ Shadow)
12. Sara
13. Inside You


Follow Consequence