Ryan Adams to release Ashes & Fire on October 11th


ryan adams 2011 Ryan Adams to release Ashes & Fire on October 11th

Since his last studio album, 2008’s Cardinology, Ryan Adams has retired from music, gotten married, reviewed video games, returned to music, released a metal album, released a ‘lost’ album, released a Record Store Day EP, toured the UK, released a UK tour-only EP, and covered Vampire Weekend. On October 11th, the acclaimed singer-songwriter will finally follow up the aforementioned Cardinology when he releases Ashes & Fire on October 11th via a new U.S. arrangement with his own PAX-AM label and EMI’s Capitol.

As previously reported, the album was produced by the legendary Glyn Johns (Beatles, Bob Dylan, The Clash). (Fun fact: Glyn’s son Ethan produced previous Ryan Adams albums Heartbreaker, Gold and, 29.) The 11-track effort also features a guest appearance by Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers keyboardist Benmont Tench as well as Norah Jones who contributes piano and backing vocals on several tracks. Below, you can watch a clip of Adams performing the album opener, “Dirty Rain”, in concert.

In support of the release, Adams will soon be announcing dates and venues for a solo acoustic tour of California and the Pacific Northwest this fall.

Ashes & Fire Tracklist:
01. Dirty Rain
02. Ashes & Fire
03. Come Home
04. Rocks
05. Do I Wait
06. Chains Of Love
07. Invisible Riverside
08. Save Me
09. Kindness
10. Lucky Now
11. I Love You But I Don’t Know What To Say