Sting: 25 Years arrives in September


sting Sting: 25 Years arrives in September

It’s beginning to look a lot like the holiday season. Ben Folds has that retrospective release on the way, The Beach Boys plan on stealing our wallets come November, and there’s that Nirvana package, too. Now, everyone’s favorite Englishman Sting – or Gordon Matthew Thomas Sumner, if you’re not into nicknames – plans on joining the ranks with Sting: 25 Years, a four-disc box set that arrives September 27th via Cherrytree/A&M Records/Universal Music Group.

The forthcoming effort features three CDs, sporting 45 remastered tracks that were “personally curated by Sting”, in addition to Rough, Raw & Unreleased: Live At Irving Plaza, a previously unreleased live concert DVD. It’s all housed in “a beautiful, lavish hardcover book containing intimate and rare photos from world renowned photographers, complete lyrics, personal commentary and a newly written introduction by Sting.” Cool.

Completists will like to know that the box set was produced by Rob Mathes with help from longtime manager Kathryn Schenker, who acts as Executive Producer here. Nine tracks were also remixed by Robert Orton and Steve Fitzmaurice. Peep the full tracklist below.

Sting: 25 Years hits streets on September 27th. A double CD version will also be available beginning October 18th.  As of now, there’s still no word on whether or not we’ll see a Symphonicities II. Letter writing campaign?

Sting: 25 Years Tracklist
Disc One:
01. If You Love Somebody Set Them Free
02. Love Is The Seventh Wave
03. Consider Me Gone
04. Moon Over Bourbon Street
05. Fortress Around Your Heart
06. Bring On The Night (Live)
07. Driven To Tears (Live)
08. I Burn For You (Live)
09. Be Still My Beating Heart
10. They Dance Alone
11. Englishman In New York
12. Fragile
13. We’ll Be Together
14. Sister Moon
15. Secret Marriage

Disc Two:
01. All This Time
02. Mad About You
03. Why Should I Cry For You?
04. The Soul Cages
05. When The Angels Fall
06. If I Ever Lose My Faith In You
07. Fields Of Gold
08. Seven Days
09. It’s Probably Me
10. Shape Of My Heart
11. When We Dance
12. I Hung My Head
13. I Was Brought To My Senses
14. You Still Touch Me
15. I’m So Happy I Can’t Stop Crying

Disc Three:
01. A Thousand Years
02. Desert Rose
03. Ghost Story
04. Brand New Day
05. Send Your Love
06. Whenever I Say Your Name
07. Stolen Car (Take Me Dancing)
08. Soul Cake
09. The Hounds Of Winter
10. Next To You
11. We Work The Black Seam
12. The Pirate’s Bride
13. Never Coming Home
14. Russians (Live)
15. The End Of The Game (Live)

Disc Four: Rough, Raw & Unreleased: Live at Irving Plaza
01. Message In A Bottle
02. Demolition Man
03. Synchronicity II
04. Driven To Tears
05. Heavy Cloud, No Rain
06. A Day In The Life
07. Voices Inside My Head/When The World Is Running Down
08. Roxanne
09. Next To You
10. Lithium Sunset

Leave a comment