Stream: Blitzen Trapper – American Goldwing

Portland, OR is becoming a popular launching pad for the “new” indie-folk movement, but fans of Blitzen Trapper know there’s nothing new about it. Eric Earley and his band of experimental alt-folk compatriots already have five full-lengths to their name, and a sixth, American Goldwing, is out on September 13th from Sub Pop. Right now, you can stream the 11-track effort in full at Paste.

And below, check out the band’s new video for the track “Love the Way You Walk Away”. The song is a trucker of a country number, building incessantly towards a cadence that Earley’s rising voice and a bemoaning slide guitar keep purposefully just out of reach. For the video, the boys seek to give their personal answer to the question of what exactly it is people in Portland do. Turns out they shoot guns, drink beer, hangout around animal dioramas, and find abandoned barns to jam in.

American Goldwing Tracklist:
01. Might Find It Cheap
02. Fletcher
03. Love the Way You Walk Away
04. Your Crying Eyes
05. My Home Town
06. Girl in a Coat
07. American Goldwing
08. Astronaut
09. Taking it Easy Too Long
10. Street Fighting Sun
11. Stranger in a Strange Land


Follow Consequence