Strut issues Factory Records compilation: FAC. DANCE


Factory Records label head Tony Wilson once stated, “Every band needs its own special chemistry.” That sort of thinking might explain why Bill Brewster of was able to put together the forthcoming two-disc compilation, FAC. DANCE.

Celebrating the work of Factory Records, specifically from 1980-1987, the collection of mixes and rarities focuses on the label’s eccentric yet highly intriguing catalog that featured legends like New Order and relatively unknowns like Swamp Children. As a press release for the effort writes, “This is the music that would provide the blueprint for the Manchester scene of the late ’80s and Factory’s heady later years – the Happy Mondays, James, Northside and the rest.”

Think of it as a history lessons of sorts. With annotations by Brewster, including rare artist photos and Peter Saville’s original artwork, fans and new fans alike should take great reward in its expansive diversity and material. With a release set for October 11th, here’s looking at your Halloween party mix. Be sure to peep the tracklist below.

FAC. DANCE: Factory Records 12″ Mixes & Rarities 1980-1987 hits streets October 11th via Strut.

FAC. DANCE Tracklist:
CD 1
01. Section 25 – “Looking From A Hilltop (Megamix)”
02. A Certain Ratio – “Wild Party”
03. Quando Quango – “Love Tempo”
04. 52nd Street – “Express”
05. Swamp Children – “Little Voices”
06. Biting Tongues – “Boss Toyota Trouble”
07. The Durutti Column – “For Belgian Friends (Valuable Passages version)”
08. Royal Family & The Poor – “Art On 45”
09. A Certain Ratio – “Knife Slits Water (12-inch version)”
10. Section 25 – “Dirty Disco”
11. Blurt – “Puppeteer”
12. X-O-Dus – “See Them-A-Come”

CD 2
01. New Order – “Confusion (Original 12″ mix)”
02. Shark Vegas – “Pretenders Of Love”
03. 52nd Street – “Cool As Ice (Jellybean Mix)”
04. Streetlife – “Act On Instinct (Hot Swedish Mix)”
05. The Hood – “Salvation! (Nitromix)”
06. Abecedarians – “Smiling Monarchs”
07. Quando Quango – “Atom Rock (Mark Kamins Mix)”
08. Marcel King – “Reach For Love (New York Remix)”
09. 52nd Street – “Look Into My Eyes”
10. Quando Quango – “Genius”
11. Swamp Children – “You’ve Got Me Beat”
12. The Durutti Column – “Madeleine”

Digital Only Bonus Tracks:
Minny Pops – “Time”
Kalima – “Black Water”
Royal Family & The Poor – “Motherland”