Belle & Sebastian's Stevie Jackson releases solo album

Glasgow’s Belle & Sebastian are taking a breather after one exhaustive tour that saw them support last year’s Write About Love, but don’t let that get you down. Guitarist (and sometimes vocalist) Stevie Jackson returns in the band’s stead with (I Can’t Get No) Stevie Jackson, his debut solo effort. The 12-track effort is now available digitally through Jackson’s website, with a physical release to follow on October 24th.

According to Exclaim, the album includes material written as far back as 2006, though its mastering was only recently completed. Guesting alongside Jackson are The New Pornographers’ Kurt Dahle and John Collins, The Pastels’ Katrina Mitchell, and members of Belle and Sebastian, though frontman Stuart Murdoch remains noticeably absent. You can consult the tracklist, along with two cuts off the LP, below.

And if all that weren’t enough, the man’s decided to return to the road. Come November, he’ll be back to living from city to city, though it’s mostly a UK affair. Check out the dates after the jump.

(I Can’t Get No) Stevie Jackson Tracklist:
01. Pure of Heart
02. Just, Just So to the Point
03. Try Me
04. Richie Now
05. Dead Man’s Fall
06. Bird’s Eye View
07. Man of God
08. Kurosawa
09. Where Do All the Good Girls Go?
10. Telephone Song
11. Press Send
12. Feel The Morning

Stevie Jackson 2011 Tour Dates:
11/03 – Newcastle, UK @ Other Rooms
11/04 – Machester, UK @ Club Academy
11/06 – Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club
11/07 – Birmingham, UK @ Glee Club
11/08 – Norwich, UK @ Waterfront
11/09 – London, UK @ Heaven
11/10 – Bristol, UK @ Thelka
11/11 – Brighton, UK @ Concorde
11/13 – Portsmouth, UK @ Wedgewood Rooms
11/14 – Koln, DE @ Luxor
11/15 – Hamburg, DE @ Gruenspan
11/16 – Berlin, DE @ Lido
11/18 – Den Haag, NL @ Crossing Border
11/19 – Gent, BE @ Charlatan
11/20 – Brussels, BE @ Botanique
11/21 – Paris, FR @ Divan du Monde
11/25 – Glasgow, UK @ King Tut’s


Follow Consequence