R.E.M. details greatest hits album: Part Lies, Part Heart, Part Truth, Part Garbage, 1982 – 2011

As previously reported, the recently disbanded R.E.M. will release a career-spanning retrospective, Part Lies, Part Heart, Part Truth, Part Garbage: 1982-2011, on November 15th via Warner Bros. Records. Today, an issued press release unveiled the compilation’s artwork (see above) and its lengthy tracklist. Spanning two discs and 40 tracks, Part Lies… will include material from the band’s entire back catalog, from their time as an underground rock sensations on IRS to their mainstream superstardom while signed to Warner Bros. Records.

In addition to classics like “Radio Free Europe”, “Orange Crush”, Man On The Moon”, and Coldplay’s favorite tune “Everybody Hurts”, the compilation will also include three new songs (“A Month of Saturdays, “We All Go Back To Where We Belong”, and “Hallelujah”), which were recorded with producer Jacknife Lee following the release of their most recent LP, Collapse Into Now. “We All Go Back To Where We Belong” will serve as the lead single and will hit both the radio and record shelves on October 18th.

The compilation will also include liner notes written by R.E.M’s four founding members, Michael Stipe, Peter Buck, Mike Mills, and Bill Berry. Said Mills in an issued statement: “Working through our music and memories from over three decades was a hell of a journey…We realized that these songs seemed to draw a natural line under the last 31 years of our working together.”

Part Lies, Part Heart, Part Truth, Part Garbage, 1982 – 2011 Tracklist:
Disc 1:
01. Gardening At Night
02. Radio Free Europe
03. Talk About The Passion
04. Sitting Still
05. So. Central Rain
06. (Don’t Go Back To) Rockville
07. Driver 8
08. Life And How To Live It
09. Begin The Begin
10. Fall On Me
11. Finest Worksong
12. It’s The End Of The World As We Know It (And I Feel Fine)
13. The One I Love
14. Stand
15 Pop Song 89
16. Get Up
17. Orange Crush
18. Losing My Religion
19. Country Feedback
20. Shiny Happy People

Disc 2:
01. The Sidewinder Sleeps Tonite
02. Everybody Hurts
03. Man On The Moon
04. Nightswimming
05. What’s The Frequency, Kenneth?
06. New Test Leper
07. Electrolite
08. At My Most Beautiful
09. The Great Beyond
10. Imitation Of Life
11. Bad Day
12. Leaving New York
13. Living Well Is The Best Revenge
14. Supernatural Superserious
15. Ãœberlin
16. Oh My Heart
17. Alligator_Aviator_Autopilot_Antimatter
18. A Month of Saturdays
19. We All Go Back To Where We Belong
20. Hallelujah


Follow Consequence