Amy Winehouse posthumus album to include unreleased recordings

A number of unreleased and unfinished songs by the late Amy Winehouse will be packaged in a posthumus compilation titled Lioness: Hidden Treasures. According to NME, the album includes unreleased tracks “Halftime” and “The Girl From Ipanema”, which were recorded during her sessions for her 2003 debut album Frank, a collaboration with rapper Nas titled “Like Smoke”, and a new song “Between The Cheats”.

In addition, the album will pack alternate takes of previously released songs like “Wake Up Alone”, “Tears Dry On Their Own”, and “Valerie”, covers of The Shirelles, Donny Hathaway, and Ruby & The Romantics, and the duet between Winehouse and Tony Bennett titled “Body & Soul”, which was released earlier this year.

Amy’s father, Mitch Winehouse, oversaw the project and her longtime collaborators Mark Ronson and Salaam Remi served as producers. Said Mitch of the album: “It wasn’t until I sat down with the rest of the family and listened to this album that I fully appreciated the breadth of her talent. From jazz standards to hip-hop songs, it took my breath away. Had the family felt this album wasn’t up to the standard of Amy’s others, Frank and Back To Black, we’d never have agreed to release it. We believe it will stand as a fitting tribute to her musical legacy.”

Lioness: Hidden Treasures will be released on December 5th and £1 from each copy of the album that is sold will be donated to the Amy Winehouse Foundation, the charity set up in the singer’s honor. Below, you can stream “Body & Soul” and read the tracklist in full.

Amy Winehouse & Tony Bennett – “Body & Soul”:

Lioness: Hidden Treasures Tracklist:
01. Our Day Will Come (Ruby & The Romantics cover) (2002)
02. Between The Cheats (2008)
03. Tears Dry On Their Own (Alternate) (2005)
04. Wake Up Alone (Alternate) (2006)
05. Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow (feat. The Dap Kings) (The Shirelles cover) (2004)
06. Valerie (Alternate) (2006)
07. Like Smoke (feat. Nas) (2008)
08. The Girl From Ipanema (2002)
09. Halftime (2002)
10. Best Friends (2003)
11. Body & Soul (feat. Tony Bennett) (2011)
12. A Song For You (Donny Hathaway cover) (2009)


Follow Consequence