Feist, Joanna Newsom, Andrew Bird featured on The Muppets soundtrack


muppets soundtrack1 Feist, Joanna Newsom, Andrew Bird featured on The Muppets soundtrack

For as awesome as Muppets: The Green Album proved to be, it was only the beginning of the musical onslaught for the Jason Segel, Amy Adams-starring reboot of The Muppets. As it turns out, the film’s official soundtrack is just as bonkers, featuring a who’s who of notable musicians like Andrew Bird and Paul Simon, reports Billboard. Plus, you know a soundtrack’s great when Miss Piggy isn’t even the best part.

In addition to Bird and Simon’s contributions, Leslie Feist dueted with Mickey Rooney — yes, that Mickey Rooney — on “Life’s A Happy Song”, which was one of four original tracks written for the film by Flight Of The Conchords’ Bret McKenzie. Joanna Newsom also contributed vocals, in this case to album opener “The Muppet Show Theme” (sorry, no Muppet joke here, folks). Other soundtrack highlights include appearances by Segel and Adams and The Muppets Barbershop Quartet covering “Smells Like Teen Spirit”; now THAT is Nirvana. Check out the entire tracklist below.

The soundtrack hits stores November 21st via Walt Disney Records. The Muppets hits theaters on November 23rd. Check out the trailer below.

The Muppets Official Soundtrack Tracklist:
01. The Muppets – The Muppet Show Theme
02. Jason Segel, Amy Adams & Walter – Life’s A Happy Song
03. Kermit & The Muppets – Pictures In My Head
04. Paul Simon – Me And Julio Down By The Schoolyard
05. The Moopets – Rainbow Connection
06. Starship – We Built This City
07. Amy Adams & Miss Piggy – Me Party
08. Chris Cooper – Let’s Talk About Me
09. Jason Segel & Walter – Man Or Muppet
10. The Muppets Barbershop Quartet – Smells Like Teen Spirit
11. Camilla And The Chickens – Forget You
12. The Muppets – Rainbow Connection
13. Andrew Bird – The Whistling Caruso
14. Finale Entire Cast – Life’s A Happy Song
15. Manha Manha & The Two Snowths – Mahna Mahna