Islands announce new album: A Sleep & A Forgetting

After dedicating most of 2010 to his Michael Cera-aided side-project Mister Heavenly, Nick Thorburn is back to his day job as frontman of Islands. And early next year, the Montreal-bred indie-pop band will release their fourth album, A Sleep & A Forgetting, via ANTI- Records.

Due for release on February 14th, the album was produced by Thorburn and fellow Islands member Evan Gordon in less than two weeks and each of the 11 songs were recorded live. According to Thorburn, the sound is his “interpretation of soul music,” while the lyrical content deals with his own personal unrest. Says Thorburn:

This album is far more personal than any I’ve made before… I left New York after the end of a relationship and came to Los Angeles. There was a piano where I was staying and that’s where I wrote these songs. This record deals with loss, with memory and forgetting and with dreaming. I started writing it on Valentine’s Day and its coming out on Valentine’s Day.

Check out the album’s tracklist below and stay tuned for an audio preview.

A Sleep & A Forgetting Tracklist:
01. In A Dream It Seemed Real
02. This Is Not A Song
03. Never Go Solo
04. No Crying
05. Hallways
06. Can’t Feel My Face
07. Lonely Love
08. Oh Maria
09. Cold Again
10. Don’t I Love You
11. Same Thing


Follow Consequence