Can to release The Lost Tapes in June

Can — the influential Krautrock outfit behind one of the four best LPs with four tracks — has compiled previously unreleased material for a new box set. Entitled The Lost Tapes, the 3-CD collection includes studio and live recordings, from “soundtracks to films that were never released to tracks that didn’t make it onto the final versions of albums due to space,” according to a press release.

Discovered in the band’s studio after being sold to the German Rock ‘n’ Pop Museum, the content was recorded between 1968 and 1977 by the lineup of Holger Czukay (bass), Michael Karoli (guitar), Jaki Liebezeit (drums), and Irmin Schmidt (keyboard), and on most tracks, vocals from Malcolm Mooney or Damo Suzuki. The collection was curated by Schmidt and Daniel Miller, compiled by Schmidt and Jono Podmore, and edited by Jono Podmore.

The Lost Tapes arrive June 19th via Mute. As a first listen, you can stream a track called “Millionenspiel” below.

In support of the release, Schmidt and Podmore will appear at New York’s Le Poisson Rouge on April 17th, where they’ll present “The Music Of Can: An Evening of Unreleased Music and Discussion.” According to the press release, the duo will debut unreleased music from the box, discussing the music with each other and answering audience questions.


Follow Consequence