Elton John to release Classic Album Selection (1970-73) box set


elton john box Elton John to release Classic Album Selection (1970 73) box set

On July 16th, Universal Music will compile five Elton John album from the early 1970’s in a new box set, aptly titled Classic Album Selection (1970-73).

The collection includes John’s self-titled sophomore record, Tumbleweed Connection, Madman Across the Water, Honky Château, and Don’t Shoot Me I’m Only the Piano Player. While no new bonus or unreleased tracks are part of the collection, these five classics include some of the Rocket Man’s most popular songs: Elton John features his breakthrough single “Your Song”, Madman has “Tiny Dancer”, Château gave us “Rocket Man”, and Only the Piano Player introduced “Crocodile Rock”. Of course, they all have more than just one great song, so check out the track lists just ahead.

In addition, Universal will release the Elton Vs. Pnau remix album on July 2nd. The album came about when John gave Australian duo Pnau (who also perform as Empire of the Sun) full access to his archive of master recordings from 1970 to 1976. By adding their own samples, loops, and original material, Pnau has reincarnated some of John’s most beloved material into completely new compositions. More info on that is available at

Elton John Tracklist:
01. Your Song
02. I Need You To Turn To
03. Take Me To The Pilot
04. No Shoe Strings On Louise
05. First Episode At Hienton
06. Sixty Years On
07. Border Song
08. The Greatest Discovery
09. The Cage
10. The King Must Die
11. Bad Side Of The Moon (Single Version)
12. Grey Seal
13. Rock And Roll Madonna

Tumbleweed Connection Tracklist:
01. Ballad Of A Well-Known Gun
02. Come Down In Time
03. Country Comfort
04. Son Of Your Father
05. My Father’s Gun
06. Where To Now St. Peter?
07. Love Song
08. Amoreena
09. Talking Old Soldiers
10. Burn Down The Mission
11. Into The Old Man’s Shoes
12. Madman Across The Water (Original Version)

Madman Across the Water Tracklist:
01. Tiny Dancer
02. Levon
03. Razor Face
04. Madman Across The Water
05. Indian Sunset
06. Holiday Inn
07. Rotten Peaches
08. All The Nasties
09. Goodbye

Honky Château Tracklist:
01. Honky Cat
02. Mellow
03. I Think I’m Going To Kill Myself
04. Susie (Dramas)
05. Rocket Man (I Think It’s Going To Be A Long Long Time)
06. Salvation
07. Slave
08. Amy
09. Mona Lisas And Mad Hatters
10. Hercules
11. Slave (Alternate ‘Fast’ Version)

Don’t Shoot Me I’m Only the Piano Player Tracklist:
01. Daniel
02. Teacher I Need You
03. Elderberry Wine
04. Blues For My Baby And Me
05. Midnight Creeper
06. Have Mercy On The Criminal
07. I’m Gonna Be A Teenage Idol
08. Texan Love Song
09. Crocodile Rock
10. High Flying Bird
11. Screw You (Young Man’s Blues)
12. Jack Rabbit (Single Version)
13. Whenever You’re Ready (We’ll Go Steady Again) (Single Version)
14. Skyline Pigeon (Piano Version)