Stephen King nabs Elvis Costello, Neko Case for Ghost Brothers of Darkland County CD/DVD


ghost brothers Stephen King nabs Elvis Costello, Neko Case for Ghost Brothers of Darkland County CD/DVD

Stephen King, John Mellencamp, and producer T Bone Burnett’s southern gothic supernatural musical, Ghost Brothers of Darkland County, will arrive as a star-studded CD/DVD on March 19th via Hear Music/Concord Music Group.

Thirteen years in the making, a version of the musical made its debut at Atlanta’s Alliance Theater this past spring. For this release, however, Burnett tagged Elvis Costello, Sheryl Crow, Neko Case, and many more to perform renditions of the musical’s songs. These will be paired with key dialogue excerpts by a bevy of Hollywood talent, specifically Matthew McConaughey, Samantha Mathis, and Meg Ryan.

The album will be released over a variety of formats, including a Deluxe Edition that compiles the soundtrack, artwork, handwritten lyrics, the “Making of Ghost Brothers” mini-documentary, and in-depth interviews with King, Mellencamp, and Burnett over two CDs and a DVD.

For a taste of the horror, stream Elvis Costello’s take on “That’s Me” below.

Ghost Brothers of Darkland County Tracklist:
01. Elvis Costello – “That’s Me”
02. Neko Case – “That’s Who I Am”
03. Dave Alvin, Phil Alvin, and Sheryl Crow – “So Goddamn Smart”
04. Elvis Costello – “Wrong, Wrong, Wrong About Me”
05. Ryan Bingham and Will Dailey – “Brotherly Love”
06. Kris Kristofferson – “How Many Days”
07. Ryan Bingham – “You Are Blind”
08. Sheryl Crow, Dave Alvin, Phil Alvin, Taj Mahal – “Home Again”
09. Rosanne Cash – “What’s Going On Here”
10. Clyde Mulroney – “My Name Is Joe”
11. Taj Mahal – “Tear This Cabin Down”
12. Sheryl Crow, Dave Alvin, and Phil Alvin – “And Your Days Are Gone”
13. Sheryl Crow – “Jukin'”
14. Kris Kristofferson, Phil Alvin, Sheryl Crow, Dave Alvin, Taj Mahal – “What Kind Of Man Am I”
15. Phil Alvin, Dave Alvin, Sheryl Crow – “So Goddamn Good”
16. Sheryl Crow – “Away From This World”
17. John Mellencamp – “Truth”