Thom Yorke’s Atoms For Peace confirm new album details


atoms for peace amok e1354637100873 Thom Yorkes Atoms For Peace confirm new album details

Thom Yorke’s super side-project Atoms For Peace have formally detailed their debut studio album. Though a previous report suggested Amok would arrive in January, the nine-track effort is actually set for February 26th through XL Recordings (via Pitchfork). The tracklist includes the previously revealed single “Default” and “Judge, Jury and Executioner”, which the band originally debuted live. The album artwork is up above, designed by longtime Radiohead collaborator Stanley Donwood.

The group – comprised of Yorke and Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich, Red Hot Chili Peppers bassist Flea, all-star session drummer Joey Waronker, and Brazilian percussionist Mauro Refosco — recorded the album following their tour in 2010.

Speaking about the project during a recent interview with BBC Radio 1, Yorke said the group was initially formed to tour behind his solo LP Eraser, “but it sparked something off. So we ended up at the end of that getting into the studio and generating some new beats.”

In a press release announcing the album, Yorke said the band plans to tour in 2013. He explained, “Atoms is a ongoing and open ended project, where it leads i know not for certain… which is what is nice about it.”

Below, listen to the lead single “Default”, watch live footage of “Judge, Jury and Executioner”, and take a peak at the rest of the tracklist.

AMOK Tracklist:
01. Before Your Very Eyes…
02. Default
03. Ingenue
04. Dropped
05. Unless
06. Stuck Together Pieces
07. Judge, Jury and Executioner
08. Reverse Running
09. Amok