David Bowie to release new single, “The Stars (Are Out Tonight)”, on February 26th


david bowie the stars are out tonight David Bowie to release new single, The Stars (Are Out Tonight), on February 26th

David Bowie has kept relatively mum since the surprise announcement of his new album, The Next Day, and release of the lead single, “Where Are We Now?”. Some of my colleagues at CoS have argued that Bowie doesn’t need to worry about marketing himself, that his name alone will sell albums. There’s some merit to this, but kids these days also have short attention spans, and with all the other major releases on the docket, I do think Bowie needs to work a little harder if he cares about his performance on the charts.

It finally looks like he’s in agreement. A bunch of flyers advertising The Next Day have been posted through my neighborhood here in Chicago, and now Bowie’s taken to Facebook to announce the February 26th release of the album’s next single, “The Stars (Are Out Tonight)”. That’s the single’s artwork up above.

The Next Day arrives March 12th via Columbia Records. Below, you can revisit the video for “Where Are We Now?”.

The Next Day Tracklist:
01. The Next Day
02. Dirty Boys
03. The Stars (Are Out Tonight)
04. Love Is Lost
05. Where Are We Now?
06. Valentine’s Day
07. If You Can See Me
08. I’d Rather Be High
09. Boss Of Me
10. Dancing Out In Space
11. How Does The Grass Grow
12. (You Will) Set The World On Fire
13. You Feel So Lonely You Could Die
14. Heat
15. So She (Bonus Track)
16. I’ll Take You There (Bonus Track)
17. Plan (Bonus Track)