Watch the video for David Bowie’s new single, “The Stars (Are Out Tonight)”


screen shot 2013 02 25 at 10.38.01 pm e1361853580726 Watch the video for David Bowies new single, The Stars (Are Out Tonight)

David Bowie kept his promise of a new single and here we are with “The Stars (Are Out Tonight)”. The latest track off his forthcoming 24th studio album, The Next Day, arrives as a star-studded music video directed by Floria Sigismondi and starring Oscar-winning actress Tilda Swinton.

According to the plot synopsis, Bowie and Swinton play a happily married couple, whose world is disturbed and then re-arranged by the intrusion of a celebrity couple played by Andrej Pejic and Saskia de Brauw. de Brauw’s character looks eerily similar to a young David Bowie.

The goal of the film was to capture “a twenty first century moment in its convergence of age, gender and the normal/celebrity divide.”

The Next Day, Bowie’s first album in 10 years, arrives March 12th via Columbia Records. Both ”The Stars (Are Out Tonight)” and the album’s lead single, “Where Are We Now?”, will be released as a limited edition 7″ vinyl for Record Store Day (April 20th).

The Next Day Tracklist:
01. The Next Day
02. Dirty Boys
03. The Stars (Are Out Tonight)
04. Love Is Lost
05. Where Are We Now?
06. Valentine’s Day
07. If You Can See Me
08. I’d Rather Be High
09. Boss Of Me
10. Dancing Out In Space
11. How Does The Grass Grow
12. (You Will) Set The World On Fire
13. You Feel So Lonely You Could Die
14. Heat
15. So She (Bonus Track)
16. I’ll Take You There (Bonus Track)
17. Plan (Bonus Track)

david bowie the stars are out tonight Watch the video for David Bowies new single, The Stars (Are Out Tonight)