Dodos announce new album Carrier, listen to first track “Confidence”

Dodos Carrier

San Francisco indie rockers The Dodos have signed to Polyvinyl for the release of their new album, Carrier, due out August 27th. It’s the band’s fifth album to date and their first since 2011’s excellent No Color.

Dodos leader Meric Long was particularly affected by the death of guitarist Christopher Reimer, who performed with the band in 2011. “Chris was a huge influence on the way I think about guitar, songwriting, and music in general,” Long said in a statement. “Seeing how he could transform and shape sound with an electric guitar inspired me to explore more tones and use those tones to begin writing a song.”

As Polyvinyl explains, Long “employed two principles he inherited from Reimer: patience to let a song develop and a judgment-free enthusiasm for sound.” With the new process came a number of firsts: it’s the first time Long wrote words before music, the first time he used an electric guitar when putting those words to music, and the first time the band recorded in their home state.

You can begin to gauge the result of Long’s efforts by taking a listen to the album’s lead single, “Confidence”, which definitely evolves into quite the rocker by song’s end.

Carrier Tracklist:
01. Transformer
02. Substance
03. Confidence
04. Stranger
05. Relief
06. Holidays
07. Family
08. The Current
09. Destroyer
10. Death
11 The Ocean


Follow Consequence