Hüsker Dü’s Grant Hart announces new solo album The Argument


GrantHart Photo credit Andrew Moxom LO RES

Grant Hart, founding member of alt-rock pioneers Hüsker Dü, returns with a new, categorically epic double album The Argument, his first solo album since 2009’s Hot Wax.

According to a press release, the album is loosely based on John Milton’s Paradise Lost, or rather an unpublished manuscript of the novel written by William S. Boroughs that he recently came across. Songs loosely follow the plot, and even adhere to Milton’s pentameter.

Listen to a sample from the album below featuring both the lightness and darkness with the somber “Is The Sky the Limit?” to the more upbeat “Letting Me Out”.

The Argument is out June 21st via Domino records.

The Argument Tracklist:
01. Out Of Chaos
02. Morningstar
03. Awake, Arise!
04. If We Have The Will
05. I Will Never See My Home
06. I Am Death
07. Sin
08. Letting Me Out
09. Is The Sky The Limit?
10. Golden Chain
11. So Far From Heaven
12. Shine, Shine, Shine
13. It Isn’t Love
14. War In Heaven
15. Glorious
16. (It Was A) Most Disturbing Dream
17. Underneath The Apple Tree
18. The Argument
19. Run For The Wilderness
20. For Those Too High Aspiring