Stream Explosion in the Sky’s soundtrack for Prince Avalanche



Explosions in the Sky are streaming their score for the new David Gordon Green comedy, Prince Avalanche, in full one week ahead of its release date (August 8th via Temporary Residence Ltd.) Take a listen now at

The 15-track effort sees the Austin-based outfit reunited with longtime friend and hometown musician David Wingo, who they met over a decade ago when both acts contributed music to Green’s 2003 sophomore film, All The Real Girls. This marks their first official collaboration together, however.

As evidenced by the score’s two singles, “Wading” and “Join Me on My Avalanche”, the collective are exploring sounds outside of EITS’ sweeping, ambient overtures, electronically-tinged soundscapes more akin to the work of Steve Hauschildt and fellow scorer Atticus Ross.

Shot in Texas’ Bastrop State Park, as suggested by Explosions drummer Chris Hrasky, Prince Avalanche stars Paul Rudd and Emile Hirsch as two workers on an isolated stretch of Texas road in a “darkly comic, sparely staged yet emotionally complex Beckett-ian tale.” The film hits theaters on August 9th. Here’s the trailer:

Pre-orders for the soundtrack are ongoing.

Prince Avalance OST Tracklist:
01. Fires
02. Theme From Prince Avalanche
03. Dear Madison
04. Passing Time
05. Rain
06. Alone Time
07. Hello, Is This Your House?
08. Can’t We Just Listen To The Silence
09. Wading
10. Dear Alvin
11. The Lines On The Road That Lead You Back Home
12. An Old Peasant Like Me
13. Join Me On My Avalanche
14. The Adventures Of Alvin and Lance
15. Send Off