The Blind Boys of Alabama made an indie album with Justin Vernon, tUnE-yArDs, and more

blind boys

Seventy years into their career, The Blind Boys of Alabama are finally making an indie album. The Grammy Award-winning gospel group — whose released upward of 50 albums and and collaborated with everyone from Peter Gabriel to Charlie Musselwhite to The Roots — has announced the October 1st release of I’ll Find a Way.

The album was produced by Justin Vernon and also features the talents of tUnE-yArDs, My Brightest Diamond, Sam Amidon, and Phil Cook (Megafaun, The Shouting Matches). It was recorded at Vernon’s April Base studio in rural Wisconsin.

The tracklist includes a mixture of old gospel staples, newly penned material, and even a cover of Bob Dylan’s “Every Grain of Sand”, which features vocals from Vernon himself. Also covered is the song “I Am Not Waiting Anymore” by Bon Iver associate Field Report. Check out the tracklist below.

Pre-orders for the album are now ongoing.

I’ll Find a Way Tracklist:
01. God Put A Rainbow In The Cloud
02. I’ll Find A Way (To Carry It All) (feat. Shara Worden of My Brightest Diamond)
03. I Am Not Waiting Anymore (feat. Sam Amidon)
04. I Shall Not Be Moved
05. Take Me To The Water
06. I’ve Been Searching (feat. Merrill Garbus of tUnE-yArDs)
07. There Will Never Be Any Peace (Until God Is Seated At The Conference Table) (feat. Casey Dienel of White Hinterland)
08. Take your Burden To The Lord And Leave It There
09. Every Grain Of Sand (feat. Justin Vernon of Bon Iver)
10. My God Is Real
11. Jubilee (feat. Patty Griffin)


Follow Consequence