Boardwalk Empire soundtrack features new St. Vincent, Matt Berninger, Neko Case music


boardwalk sountrack

ABKCO Recording has announced the September 3rd release of Boardwalk Empire Volume 2: Music From The HBO® Original Series. Given that Vol. 1 earned a Grammy for Best Compilation Soundtrack, producer Stewart Lerman and music supervisor Randall Poster pulled out the stops for this latest compilation, enlisting a cavalcade of big-name guest vocalists.

St. Vincent, The National’s Matt Berninger, Neko Case, Elvis Costello, Patti Smith, and Rufus Wainwright are all featured across the 20-track effort, singing pop standards from the 1920s.

Poster said in a statement: “Boardwalk Empire provides an incredible back drop for music. It’s been a steady treat to mark the passing of time in song over the course of four seasons. Terry Winters, Martin Scorsese and the entire Boardwalk Empire team inspire the sound of the episodes as we move from the streets and alleys of Atlantic City to the smoky rooms of Al Capone’s Chicago and on down into the tropics of Florida. This compilation celebrates the mastery of all the artists involved.”

Preview Berninger and St. Vincent’s contributions, “I’ll See You In My Dreams” and “Make Believe”, respectively, below. Pre-orders for the soundtrack are ongoing.

Boardwalk Empire Volume 2: Music From The HBO® Original Series Tracklist:
01. David Johansen – Strut Miss Lizzie
02. Stephen DeRosa – Old King Tut
03. Elvis Costello – It Had To Be You
04. Vince Giordano & the Nighthawks – Everybody Loves My Baby
05. Liza Minnelli – You’ve Got To See Mama Ev’ry Night (Or You Can’t See Mama At All)
06. Leon Redbone – Baby Won’t You Please Come Home
07. St. Vincent – Make Believe
08. Pokey LaFarge – Lovesick Blues
09. Neko Case – Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out
10. Karen Elson – Who’s Sorry Now
11. Stephan DeRosa – You’d Be Surprised
12. Margot Bingham – I’m Going South
13. Vince Giordano & the Nighthawks – Sugarfoot Stomp
14. Rufus Wainwright – Jimbo Jambo
15. Kathy Brier – There’ll Be Some Changes Made
16. Margot Bingham – Somebody Loves Me
17. Chaim Tannenbaum – All Alone
18. Loudon Wainwright III – The Prisoner’s Song
19. Patti Smith – I Ain’t Got Nobody
20. Matt Berninger – I’ll See You In My Dreams

*All tracks featuring Vince Giordano & the Nighthawks