Stream Run Fast, the new album from Kathleen Hanna's The Julie Ruin


the julie ruin

The Julie Ruin, the new project from Riot grrrl maven Kathleen Hanna, is streaming their new album, Run Fast, in full one week ahead of its release date (September 3rd via TJR Records). Take a listen now at NPR.

Hanna originally debuted The Julie Ruin back in 1997 with a self-titled album. Following a hiatus from music whilst battling Lyme disease, Hanna reconfigured the outfit as a full band in 2010. The lineup features Hanna’s former Bikini Kill bandmate Kathi Wilcox (bassist), Kiki and Herb member Kenny Mellman (keyboardist), Carmine Covelli (drummer), and Sara Landeau (guitarist).

Recorded at Oscilloscope Studios (formerly owned by the late, great Adam “MCA” Yauch, the bandmate of Hanna’s husband Adam “Adrock” Horovitz), the 13-track album ranges from “sing-along anthems about being part of the underground in the modern economy (‘Kids in NY’) to punk stompers (‘Oh Come On’) and danceable takedowns (‘Ha Ha Ha’)”, according to the label. While the band self-produced and recorded much of the album, James Murphy helmed the soulful “Just My Kind”.

Pre-orders for the album are ongoing. Below, watch the video for “Oh Come On”.

Run Fast Tracklist:
01. Oh Come On
02. Ha Ha Ha
03. Just My Kind
04. Party City
05. Cookie Road
06. Lookout
07. Right Home
08. Kids in NY
09. Goodnight Goodbye
10. South Coast Plaza
11. Girls Like Us
12. Stop Stop
13. Run Fast